AMERISTAMP EXPO 2010 1-Frame Team Results

The fifth annual AAPE 1-Frame Team Competition was held February 19-21 at AmeriStamp Expo 2010 held in Riverside, California. Five teams participated.

This year�s winning team "Oldies But Goodies" consisted of Van Koppersmith, Alfred Kugel, Larry Gardner, John Kevin Doyle and Jerry Miller. Each member of the team received a beautiful handcrafted leather bound notebook. The team entries were:

Koppersmith: "Mobile Alabama CSA Provisional Issue"
Kugel: "Australian Forces in the Boxer Uprising"
Gardner: "British Foreign Post Office in Morocco"
Doyle: "Hawaiian Postal Cards"
Miller: "Crown and Eagle Series: The 2 Pfennig Value, 1900-1912, & Its Usage"

Scoring for the 2010 edition was the same as last year�s contest with one change. With the exception of awards presented by the APS and AAPE, a team would only receive bonus points for one award presented by any given society or sponsor.

Teams earned a bonus of 5 points for each new entry. An exhibit was deemed new if it had not previously been shown at the national or international level. Likewise, teams earned a 5-point bonus for each Type of exhibit as selected from: Traditional (TR), Postal History (PH), Postal Stationery (PS), Revenue (RE), Illustrated Mail (IM), Display (DI), Thematic (TH), Aerophilately (AE), Astrophilately (AS), Cinderella CI), Special Study (SS) and Picture Postcard (PP).

The following values were assigned to medal levels: Gold = 100, Vermeil = 90, Silver = 80, Silver-Bronze =70, Bronze = 60 and Certificate = 50. Additionally, teams earned bonus points for special awards. Winning the 1-Frame Grand Award earned 10 points, while all other awards, including the Reserve Grand Awards, earned 5 points. The table below lists the teams and the points each won.

Team Name
Oldies But Goodies151550040*570
Golden Warriors II151547025525
Collectors Club of San Francisco15204800515
I Forget0204800500
The Unconscious Incompetents25254405495

* total includes 10 point bonus for 1-Frame Grand Award

When the rules requiring three new exhibits and five different Types were replaced with bonuses, it was feared that the number of new exhibits would decline and diversity would suffer. Indeed, there were fewer new exhibits this year compared to prior editions. In 2010, 14 of the 25 entries (56%) were deemed new versus 22 of 35 (63%) for last year and 30 of 40 (75%) for 2008. On the plus side, the number of new exhibits still came close to the goal that three of every five exhibits be new. All entries for The Unconscious Incompetents were new exhibits!

Diversity also declined somewhat. However, The Unconscious Incompetents are to be applauded for their diversity, with each of its 5 exhibits representing a different type. The table below lists the counts for each exhibit type and the percentage of each type for each of the last three years.

TR7 (17.5%)12 (34%)7 (28%)
PH6 (15%)3 (9%)8 (32%)
PS5 (12.5%)4 (11%)5 (20%)
TH3 (7.5%)3 (9%)1 (4%)
IM3 (7.5%)3 (9%)0
RE4 (10%)2 (6%)1 (4%)
AE2 (5%)1 (3%)0
CI3 (7.5%)2 (6%)1 (4%)
DI6 (15%)2 (6%)0
PPN/A1 (3%)1 (4%)
SS1 (2.5%)2 (6%)0*

* The 2009 edition of the Manual of Philatelic Judging does not include Special Studies

At the meeting of the AAPE Board of Directors, a rules change was made that will be implemented for the 2011 contest increasing the bonus for new exhibits from 5 points to 10 points. It is hoped that this change will stimulate teams to enter more new exhibits, a primary goal for this contest when it was established.

The Board also suggested adding a 10 point bonus for Youth exhibits (as defined in the AmeriStamp Expo prospectus) and a 10 point bonus for Novice exhibits (as defined by rules for AAPE Novice Award). These new bonuses will also be implemented for the 2011 contest.

The 2011 rules will also include a clarification on eligibility. Eligible exhibits for the 1-Frame team competition must be eligible for the AmeriStamp Expo open 1-Frame category. Exhibits which are eligible for the 1-Frame Champion of Champions competition (winning a 1-Frame Grand at any WSP show, the 1-Frame Grand and Reserve Grand winners from AmeriStamp Expo, or 1-Frame Grand winners at Canadian national shows in the prior calendar year) are NOT eligible for the open competition. However, we learned that an exhibit which wins a 1-Frame Grand between the end of the prior year and AmeriStamp Expo is also NOT eligible to compete in the open 1-Frame category.

Additionally, the exhibit type of Special Studies (SS) will no longer be included as it is no longer recognized by APS CANEJ in the most recent edition of the Manual of Philatelic Judging (2009 ed.).

Special thanks go to Dana Guyer, APS Director of Shows & Exhibitions, and Barb Johnson, Assistant Director, for coordinating the team contest with AAPE. We appreciate their cooperation. A big "thank you!" also goes out to Pat Walker for once again picking out great prizes for the winning team.

The next edition of the 1-Frame Team Competition will be held in conjunction with AmeriStamp Expo 2011, to be held February 11-13 in Charleston, South Carolina. Start planning now to enter a team!